My history class

Heard my history teacher had a fight

Said, she fought for women’s right

And moved out of her husband’s home

To live somewhere alone

And it reminded me of a question 

She once asked, I couldn’t answer

For which I was sent out of the class
On a rainy july morning, It so happened

Why did Vandals and Romans fought I was asked

First I woke up from slumber

Her question fell like thunder

Everyone was laughing  in the class

For the funny brat I was

Looked straight in her eyes and said

Because they never talked

Puzzled, she roared

I asked you the reason for the fight 

Tell me honestly, are you high

I said, if people could sit down and talk to each other 

There wouldn’t be any fights ever

Why do we even fight

Just because our ideologies doesnt align

Perfect world’s picture is different in our mind

Imagine hating a person about whom we don’t know

But hating him because his ideas are different from our own

The world would be better place 

If we give people a bit of space

To be different, 

To be true to themselves

I got Boos instead of applauses

And everyone laughed at how funny i was

She finally said

But why did romans and Vandals fought

If you dont know, you can leave the class

And I left the class

40 comments

  1. misstalkaholic · May 27

    Don’t worry your history teacher was just another book which is limited to it’s own knowledge.. You must try speaking that idea in philosophy class 👍

    Liked by 4 people

    • Shaggy · May 27

      That indeed is true, we have set so many boundaries for ourselves and for others. I sure will

      P.S. it’s really nice to see you Falak…..
      How have you been?

      Liked by 2 people

  2. shonessa · May 27

    That’s the drawback of education systems….
    They want students to by heart the bookish words and put it on paper during exams…

    Liked by 2 people

    • Shaggy · May 27

      Exactly!!!!
      Not only education system, the barriers and boundaries are almost everywhere, and we are supposed to fall in line, crawl when we can fly, and see life passing by!!!

      :😢

      Liked by 1 person

      • shonessa · May 27

        True that!😥
        But, we have the capability to break free these hurdles and reach the peak of our success….✨

        Liked by 1 person

      • Shaggy · May 27

        Well, that’s the plan!!😊😊

        Good luck to you for that!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • shonessa · May 27

        To you too👍

        Liked by 1 person

  3. laurelwolfelives · May 27

    You would certainly get applause from me! You are true to yourself….don’t ever lose that…despite others’ limitations.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Deepika · May 27

    It’ll definitely be a much better place if people do talk and sort things out.. Loved this post! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Shaggy · May 27

      Exactly!!!
      Sitting, talking, discussing about stars, life!!
      Not seeing any posts of yours???

      Liked by 1 person

      • Deepika · May 27

        You don’t follow me that’s why…

        Liked by 1 person

      • Shaggy · May 27

        Why wouldn’t I follow you??

        Liked by 1 person

      • Deepika · May 27

        You’d know about that..

        Like

      • Shaggy · May 27

        Would i??? I have no clue

        Liked by 1 person

      • Deepika · May 27

        Hahaha… I believe you man… Don’t worry!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Shaggy · May 27

        I am sure you doo!!
        And thank you for that!!
        Have missed a lot of your posts lately!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Deepika · May 27

        You know I don’t like the T word….don’t say it please…
        You can check it out if you wish!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Shaggy · May 27

        Oh your allergy with the T word!!!
        I am sorry!!
        I sure would, like in a day or two!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Deepika · May 27

        Hahaha.. You can say that…😄
        Don’t apologise! I don’t like it either…
        Okay!

        Like

      • Shaggy · May 27

        I know you doo!!
        Thank you for that!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Shaggy · May 27

        I followed you but now, it’s showing I don’t!!! Dafuq is happening with WP

        Liked by 1 person

      • Deepika · May 27

        Oh lord!

        Like

  5. Anji aggarwal · May 27

    True..there would be a lot more peaceful world if people would talk instead of fighting..✌🏻✌🏻

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shaggy · May 27

      Exactly!!!
      Talking about life, philosophies, stars, it’s a lost art

      Are you up for a good talk??

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Sifar · May 28

    Sad truth! 😔 So much hatred everywhere with no one willing to talk it over…or let go of egos.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shaggy · May 29

      not that much hatred!!! We are still alive after all…
      the torch bearers, believers, the ones who have faith in humanity…
      I believe in people, in humans.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sifar · May 29

        Not all hatred kills! But it does kill the heart and soul!!
        Yes faith in humanity is the only hope!!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Ananya · May 29

    That was thought-provoking.😃

    Liked by 1 person

  8. crazygenesblog · June 4

    Ego is the reason we never talk and basis to all fights .

    Like

  9. Pradita Kapahi · June 10

    😂 😂 😂 😂. An apt satire on how u communicative we’ve become in an otherwise ‘connected’ world

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shaggy · June 10

      Yea, exactly!! Lately I had a fight with my sis over a petty thing, which I later realised could have been averted, if only we Had talked about it……

      Liked by 1 person

      • Pradita Kapahi · June 10

        Atta boy! putting your words into action. That’s what I always tell people who like to see change occur -be the change first.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. twinklingwords · July 5

    Hmm. So many feelings springing out of this post. That’s why we’re blogging, Shaggy (and now Harry?!) because we were made fun of for not giving bookish responses even when we made sense. There were thousand other ways of dealing with this situation and yet she chose to kick you out of class thinking you were messing around because prejudice and also because you were sleeping! But anyway, the husband did the same because again so many prejudices at play. Regardless, amidst the problems of Indian education system to prejudices, I feel bad for your teacher. Bechari.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Harry😎 · July 5

      Yea, so true…..
      Yea, actually moving to Delhi shortly, so I thought, Harry would be apt.

      Or because I was trying to be over smart. No denying the fact that that answer was utter rubbish…….

      Though I am glad you understood the moral of the story.
      My dad always told me, if you can’t negotiate you’ve already incurred loss on your part. Talking is so important, wish my teacher had talked her way out of the trouble with her husband……..

      Seeing you after a long time. Even I ain’t writing much these days.

      Liked by 1 person

      • twinklingwords · July 6

        Hello Harry ji then! I hope Delhi and the people treat you well😊 and that you have a good time!
        Yeah talking helps provided one uses the art skillfully.
        Yeah I had been keeping busy but started missing WP. You write something soon too!

        Like

Leave a Reply

