SHAGGY GOES TO THE MOUNTAIN AND COMES BACK ALIVE.

him-4

HERE READ THE PREVIOUS PART. AND JUMBLE UP IT YOURSELF.

I found a man, a local man in the woods. I was very happy seeing him. I remember I had never been so happy seeing anyone. Told him in all the languages I knew, that I am lost, but he didn’t understand the words, though he understood what I wanted to say, and took me with himself. He owned a rickety house; there were other houses as well. It was a small hamlet deep inside the Himalayan woods. I found that place surprisingly beautiful in a brutal horribly uncomfortable sort of way. Few people there understood my language, and they talked and talked and I thought they will serve the dinner soon, but dinner never came, and they all went to sleep. I had peanuts in my bag but eating it alone was so not right. I too slept; cold and hungry; like they sleep every day.

 

 

Probably you all must have heard this thing quite a lot of time; “look at all those who aren’t privileged like you, people who don’t have food, who don’t have shelter, who don’t have loving parents, and thank the god that you have almost everything you need.” It’s not a cliché; we all really never thank God for what he has given us, and whine for what he hasn’t. Those people in the rickety huts taught me, happiness can be found in smallest of things. Sometimes as small as the Himalayas.him1

 

Next day I woke up with sore throat. Those mountains were more beautiful in the morning than at any other time of the day. Clouds flowing beside you, fog and birds chirping, cliché yet beautiful. A man came to my tent to give me a hot drink, very much grateful to him. They called that drink tea, I didn’t. I was told that they will help me my way out to the highways where I can get a bus, back to manali. After shitting in open (my first experience), I started walking towards the highway with three people and some 25-30 sheep beside me. There was a young girl and his two younger brothers, we walked for hours and talked for hours. Sometimes in sign language, for neither of them were fluent in my language. I shared my peanuts with them. The four of us finished some 2 kg of salted peanuts. Finally I saw the highway, I saw some urban people. They bid me adieu and went their way. This was one heck of an adventure. I will remember these people, their homes and will remember their struggle to survive in the beautiful mountain. Why does everything that’s beautiful, kills? I started being philosophical. Himalayas make people sagacious.him2

I hitchhiked my way back to my hotel room in Manali.  Ate and drank for 2 days, before thought of going on another adventure. I hired a cabbie this time. I wanted to set a camp, one night under the stars, living like primitive men. We started early morning to ‘Nagar’ i.e. south of the Manali. According to him my idea of fun was quiet weird and boring, he proposed to take me to the whorehouse, I refused. We camped near a village called Dudan or Dupan, I don’t exactly remember. Everything was fine until he said, “okay, then I am going back, will come tomorrow to pick you up”

“No. you aren’t going. How would I live alone?”

“There’s no wild animal, you can survive one night easily”

“What about dacoits, cannibals or serial killers”

“There’s none. Besides there’s a village some 6 km from here”

I even offered him some money to stay with me. Now, as awkward as it may sound, I offered a man 2k to spend a night with me. He refused. I once thought of going back to manali with him, but I didn’t. That whole night I stayed wide awake. Listening to the eerie noises even got out of the tent once to contemplate the stars. All in all that night was splendid. I fell asleep at around 3’o clock and woke up at 8. Amazing is the word that comes. That bugger came in the afternoon. That was my last day in the manali, the hotel staff whom I had befriended so well in this 5-6 days, bid me good farewell. Headed back to Shimla where I was supposed to board the train, a couple of days later. An urban environment finally at Shimla, went to a club ate and drank and told my stories to people around. Met a girl called Avantika from Delhi who was quite amazed by my experiences; she was travelling the mountains on her motorcycle (avenger). We spent the next day together roaming around Shimla. Her idea of fun was not camping in the wild, rather it was riding and drinking, I tried it, and I enjoyed it. Avantika if you’re reading this, Thank you. Finally came the parting moment, she dropped me to the railway station. I didn’t know if I would remember her five years down the line, I didn’t know if she would mean anything 10 years later. But right at that moment I knew one thing she and her smile was all I could trade the world for. Waved goodbye and promised to meet at some point of time.

Finally I was back at home, after completing one of the tasks of my bucket list. I was home, knowing there’s place that can make you forget all your problems, there are people who don’t get dinner daily, yet never forget to smile, there is life that needs to be lived. I finally came back home after meeting myself, after getting a bit closer to my soul. And it wasn’t the end, it was the beginning.

him-3

Cheers. Till next time.

36 comments

  1. supercalifragilisticexpialidocious · September 24

    Shitting in the open??😂😂😂😂 I read that sentence twice, just to be sure that I was reading it correctly.😛😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Shaggy · September 24

      woa it was phenomenal. winds gently blowing your hair, such great scene…. you should try once…
      it wasnt that big detail or was it? should have given it a miss

      Like

      • supercalifragilisticexpialidocious · September 24

        haha. Big or not, detail is detail😂😂
        Wind blowing your hair, the stink of poo everywhere, green grass, blue sky…😂😂😂😂😂😂

        Like

      • The Shaggy · September 25

        you know, when its one’s own poo’s smell its tolerable……
        grass turns yellow actually…. after ….

        Liked by 1 person

      • supercalifragilisticexpialidocious · September 25

        Haha… Sometimes brown too.. and if you eat a lot of palak, then green. 😛

        Like

      • The Shaggy · September 25

        ishhh wow…. thank you for taking me to that visual tour…. i was about to take snack break

        Liked by 1 person

      • supercalifragilisticexpialidocious · September 25

        Now ur snack is going to taste even more delicious. 😛😛😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Shaggy · September 25

        sure enough…….
        that’s so evil…..

        Liked by 1 person

      • supercalifragilisticexpialidocious · September 25

        Enfield lovers are evil when it comes to bikes.😈😈😈😈

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Shaggy · September 29

        oh yes ofcourse!!! whichone do you like
        they launched a new one called HIMALAYAN…… its an off road bike….
        Lovely i must say

        Like

      • supercalifragilisticexpialidocious · September 29

        Yeah, read about newly launched Himalayan in the papers.
        I like classic the best . 350 or 500 doesn’t matter. Thunderbird hardly looks like an enfield. Especially with Pulsar bike like backseat, I feel it’s an insult to be called Enfield

        Like

  2. elaine · September 25

    happy to know that u had real adventurous experience by staying close to nature 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Shaggy · September 25

      yes its happiness indeed. happiness is seeing your comment as well . thank you so much for stopping by

      Liked by 1 person

      • elaine · September 25

        🙂 writing from the heart about the wanderlust is good…. 🙂

        Like

  3. atrangizindagieksafar · October 1

    That was adventurous…👍

    Liked by 1 person

  4. scintillatingmemoirs · October 1

    Lovely post .. I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award, kindly check https://scintillatingmemoirs.wordpress.com/2016/10/02/liebster-award/

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Shaggy · October 2

      Woow thank you so much for that…..
      Do you mind if I take a bit of time to do this….

      Like

  5. ssunshine14 · November 22

    Hahahaha this whole post is like a small movie you’re watching with every masala in it 😂😂😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shaggy · November 22

      My whole life is like a small movie with lots of adventure, romance and sitcom in it….
      Btw thanks for reading
      Such a great singer reading my stuff is no small feat☺☺

      Liked by 1 person

      • ssunshine14 · November 23

        Omg I guess you are talking about some one else coz that great singer is definitely not me, btw it makes me ask you this, did you listen to my not-so-beautiful voice (I am elated if you did 🙂 )
        and make your life no less than a movie, plain is so boring heehehe

        Liked by 1 person

      • Shaggy · November 23

        It’s definitely you… Yes I’ve heard you… A recent song you uploaded for your better half…. That was cute….
        Exactly… The very words I live by….

        Liked by 1 person

      • ssunshine14 · November 24

        Wow that’s so good to make this morning more good hehehe
        thanks Shaggy 🙂
        Where’s scooby dooby doo btw?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Shaggy · November 24

        Ah spreading happiness is my all time fav activity…..
        He died… About a year ago….
        His name was Trigonometry actually….

        Liked by 1 person

      • ssunshine14 · November 24

        So your life would be full of sines(sins) and cosines😜

        Like

      • Shaggy · November 29

        Well its definitely full of sins….

        Liked by 1 person

      • ssunshine14 · November 29

        May God Bless You My Child, Amen!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Shaggy · November 29

        thank God you didn’t ask me to confess!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • ssunshine14 · November 30

        Confessions can be made my child heheeh

        Like

      • Shaggy · December 1

        I sent candy crush requests to innocents…..

        Liked by 1 person

      • ssunshine14 · December 2

        hahaha even I did but Criminal Case instead heehehe

        Like

  6. reverseflashh · February 7

    the way you have written is really good

    Liked by 1 person

  7. lifeintrips · June 6

    Loved the pictures…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shaggy · June 6

      Thank you 😇😇
      A travel blogger saying this definitely means a lot….!!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. RahulYuvi · June 11

    Beautifully Written ! Simple yet Fantastic Post !

    We too visited a north Indian Hill station recently !

    And Here ‘s a short write up from my recently updated Travel Diary :

    My ‘With Family’ story of a near perfect Hill Station !!(Photograph based )

    https://the-passport-souls.travel.blog/2017/06/10/my-with-family-story-of-a-vacation-at-a-near-perfect-hill-station/

    Hope you find it interesting ! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

