Ain’t anyone’s favorite 

Why do we ask questions when we can’t hear the answers. 

As a 11 year old, one of the most common question people ever  asked me was who’s your best friend and I always said Dave. I called Dave  my best friend, and he was the only person I shared my alpenlibe with. He too shared his lollies with me and let me ride his bicycle. And we used to play cricket together in the evening. 

                   One fine evening we did not play cricket as I was very sad. We were just roaming on the streets eating lollies and alpenlibe. My mother had scolded me, that day for being mischievous . My teachers weren’t happy with me. And Dave seemed the only bearable person to me at that point of time. He was telling his stories and I was telling mine. He kept telling me about Ben. 

        I didn’t even remember what happened to me at that moment. 

” Who is your best friend, Dave? ” I asked, pretty sure that he would say my name (Ishan), but alas. 

” I guess, Ben is my best friend” he said 

For a moment I couldn’t believe he said that. I was thunderstruck. This was the person I shared my alpenlibe with.  I fell on my knees and almost cried. I suppressed my urge to cry with a great great effort. All I did was force a smile. Yet tears had come to my eyes. I didn’t say a thing and ran away crying hysterically. I don’t know if he understood but since then, 

I couldn’t ask anyone if they are my best friend 

I couldn’t ask any girl if she loves me 

I couldn’t ask anyone if I am their favorite. 

Why do we ask questions when we can’t hear the answers. 

                   

34 comments

  1. Misha · July 4

    I totally agree here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The time traveller · July 5

    Thank you for stopping by and reading

    Like

  3. ssunshine14 · July 5

    That is so very true, I guess we are scared to hear the truth

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kishan Thakar · July 5

    We can ask people what we don’t want to here

    Liked by 1 person

    • The time traveller · July 7

      Haha it’s like, asking question and answering it yourself. It’s an honor that a humor blogger is stopping by to read my stuff. Thank you so much.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Kishan Thakar · July 7

        it’s really pathetic that..i proclaimed myself humor blogger..thanks for support my stupid claim. Nd The Time Traveller your intellectually really sound just like your blog name

        Like

  5. Pingback: The Liebster Award – Life is all about PAIN
  6. Debmalya · July 6

    This is so true. Some questions dont need an answer. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The time traveller · July 6

      Very correct Debmalya. We are betyer off not asking such questions. Thank you for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

  7. Chloe · July 6

    This is so true and relatable, I’ve never really thought about it until now. Thank you for opening my eyes. A pleasure to read 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. ~vasudha~ · July 9

    ALPENLIBES……NOW TO BE SHARED WELL…..
    WELL….BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN

    Liked by 3 people

  9. You have a powerful beam of thoughts. Please keep posting such blog posts. You are simple amazing. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Dior · July 24

    Curiosity is a passed-down human trait.
    We’d either be expecting a particular answer from someone or dreading it. Regardless, we only believe it when we heart it. Humans are weird that way, haha.
    This was a real eye-opener, though. Keep writing (:

    Like

    • Dior · July 24

      *hear

      Like

    • The time traveller · August 3

      Hey,how are you doing? Sorry for replying so late.
      You have put it very correctly. Deep inside our heart we know the answer we just wanna hear from them.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Have a nice time ahead.
      Cheers
      😊

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Game Of Words · August 2

    Well, that was bittersweet. Beautifully crafted.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. The time traveller · August 6

    I was rude from the very beginning!!!! Why complain now

    Like

    • The time traveller · August 6

      Permissible limit. Threatning and blackmailing was permissible wasn’t it. What about1 your arrogance. Stop blaiming and look within. And what did i do btw ask questions? Oh i am sorry forgot you are a dictator.

      Like

  13. The time traveller · August 6

    I took my stand yesterday, it was you who started it again over this blog post. Yes you really were the wrong person to befriend. Please no more of how to live a life lecture. I have had enough. It’s a free world

    Like

  14. The time traveller · August 6

    I ain’t playing any record. I was living happily till you messaged . Also I tried to forget everything yesterday, but you just wouldn’t listen. Goodbye.

    Like

  15. This is so good. I never ask questions…stopped a long time back, not because I know the answer before hand, its just easier for the other person to say something first 🙂
    Enjoyed reading this!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Shaggy · August 26

      That’s I guess the reason for the name change…. I have a transformed into a guy who doesn’t care about answers any longer…
      Thank you for your lovely comment

      Like

Leave a Reply

